Skip to main content Skip to footer content

Kingsborough Community College-About CUNY

About CUNY

The City University of New York is the nation's leading and largest urban university, comprised of 11 senior colleges, six (6) community colleges, a graduate school, a law school, and a school of biomedical education. Close to 214,000 students of extraordinary ethnic diversity are enrolled in degree credit courses, and more than 175,000 are enrolled in continuing and professional education courses at campuses located in all New York City boroughs.

The University is under leadership that enjoys the support of the Governor and Mayor of New York City. Matthew Goldstein assumed the post of CUNY Chancellor September 1, 1999, with a charge to raise the University's standards and profile, expand its role in economic development for the city and state, increase accountability, and better integrate missions and programs of CUNY campuses.

CUNY's eleven senior colleges are: Baruch College, Brooklyn College, The City College, The College of Staten Island, Hunter College, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Lehman College, Medgar Evers College, New York City College of Technology, Queens College, and York College. The system's six community colleges are: Borough of Manhattan Community College, Bronx Community College, Hostos Community College, Kingsborough Community College, LaGuardia Community College, and Queensborough Community College. CUNY's graduate and professional schools are the Graduate School and University Center, the CUNY Law School at Queens College, and the Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education.

The City University is governed by a 17-member Board of Trustees. Ten members are appointed by the Governor of New York State, five are appointed by the Mayor of New York City, and two serve ex-officio: the chairpersons of the University Faculty Senate (non-voting) and the University Student Senate (voting). Presidents of the University's constituent Colleges are appointed by the Board of Trustees and report to the Chancellor.

The City University of New York is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer. It has a strong commitment to racial, cultural, and ethnic diversity and actively seeks and encourages nominations and applications from men and women of all races and ethnic backgrounds.

For more information about CUNY, please visit its web site at