Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Continuing ED
Skip Navigation LinksKCC Home > KCC Reads > Nominations for Next Year

kcc reads 

KCC Reads: Book Nominations, 2015 – 16

And the winner is... one of The New York Times Ten Best Books of the Year (2014), Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, an NPR "Great Reads" Book, a Chicago Tribune Best Book, a Washington Post Notable Book, a Seattle Times Best Book, a Newsday Top 10 Book --- and, a book that won in a surprising landslide vote, with 24 members of the committee supporting it:

Americanah  (2014)
by  Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Nominated by:  Aparajita De, English


The Short List (vote: 11/24/14):

The New Jim Crow (2012) Author: Michelle Alexander

The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace (2014) Author: Jeff Hobbs

Enrique's Journey (2006) Author: Sonia Nazario

Waking (2006) Author: Matthew Sanford

Americanah (2013) Author: Chimananda Ngozi Adichie

Join us for our Winter Book Club where we will read and discuss the above books!


The Long List (as of 10/27/14):

Rida Abdullah & Anna Sacerdote nominated:

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness (2012)

Author:  Michelle Alexander

Anthony Alessandrini nominated:

How Does It Feel to Be a Problem? Being Young and Arab in America (2009)

Author: Moustafa Bayoumi

Bob Blaisdell nominated:

This Is How You Lose Her (2012)

Author: Junot Diaz

Mariella Saavedra Carquin nominated:

Assata: An Autobiography (2001)

Author: Assata Shakur

Nicole Colbert nominated:

House Rules (2010)

Author: Jodi Picoult

Aparajita De nominated three books:

Americanah: A Novel (2013)

Author: Chimananda Ngozi Adichie


The Lowlands A Novel (2013)

Author: Jhumpa Lahiri


A Visit from the Goon Squad (2010)

Author: Jennifer Egan

Meg Feeley nominated:

Twelve by Twelve (2010)

Author: William Powers

Lea Fridman nominated:

In the Courtyard of the Kabbalist (2014)

Author: Ruchama King Feuerman

Rachelle Goldsmith nominated:

Waking: A Memoir of Trauma and Transcendence (2006)

Author: Matthew Sanford

Asif Hussain nominated:

Daughter of Destiny: An Autobiography (1989; 2011)

Author: Benazir Bhutto

Jennifer Radtke nominated:

The Good Lord Bird (2013)

Author: James McBride

Michael Rozza nominated:

The Humans: A Novel (2013)

Author: Matt Haig

Frances Ruoff nominated two books:

A Lawyer's Journey: The Morris Dees Story (2001)

Authors: Morris Dees and Steve Fiffer


Killing Patton (2014)

Authors: Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

Gerald Sachs nominated:

The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money & Power (2008)

Author: Daniel Yergin

Emily Schnee nominated:

Enrique's Journey: The Story of a Boy's Dangerous Odyssey to Reunite with his Mother (2006)

Author: Sonia Nazario

Jacob Segal nominated:

Her First American (2004)

Author: Lore Segal

Tara Thompson nominated:

Little Brother (2010)

Author: Cory Doctorow

Barbara Walters nominated:

The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace (2014)

Author: Jeff Hobbs

…Many thanks to all who took time out to nominate a book for next year’s program!

kccFacebook KCCTwitter
Privacy Statement | GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT | Disclaimer | LIAISONS | Text Only | Make This Website Talk  

Kingsborough Community College
2001 Oriental Boulevard, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2398 | (718)-368-5000
Kingsborough is CUNY