Skip Navigation Links
About
Admissions
Academics
Continuing ED
Alumni
Community
Donate
Skip Navigation LinksKCC Home > Academic Departments > Department of Tourism and Hospitality

 

Culinary Arts Faculty

Jon1web.jpg

Jonathan Deutsch, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director

Dr. Deutsch is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America (AOS, Culinary Arts), Drexel University (BS, Hospitality Management) and New York University (Ph.D., Food Studies). He has worked in restaurants, hotels, institutions and product development, both in the US and abroad. He is the author or editor of four books including Culinary Improvisation (Pearson, 2009) and Gastropolis: Food and New York City (Columbia University Press, 2009).

Babette Audant, Chef-Lecturer

Babette Audant went to Prague after college, where she quickly gave up teaching English in order to cook at a classical French restaurant. After graduating from the Culinary Institute of America, she worked as a chef in New York City for eight years at Rainbow Room, Beacon Bar & Grill, and other top-rated places. She joined Kingsborough's Department of Tourism & Hospitality in 2002. She has since earned a master's degree in public administration, and is a doctoral candidate in Geography at the CUNY Graduate Center. Her research focuses on public markets and food policy in New York City. In addition to teaching at Kingsborough, she serves as Secretary of the Association for the Study of Food and Society (ASFS) and is a research fellow with the Public Space Research Group. She travels as often as possible, always on the lookout for the next great meal.

Maii.JPG

Robynne Maii, MS, Chef-Lecturer and Executive Chef, Student Catering Enterprise

Chef Maii was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii. After majoring in English and modern dance at Middlebury College in Vermont, she returned to the islands to pursue culinary and pastry arts at Kapiolani Community College, an affiliate of the University of Hawaii. In 1999, Robynne moved to New York City for graduate school and completed her degree in food studies at New York University. While in school, she worked at Union Pacific under Chef Rocco DiSpirito and at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in the pastry banquet kitchen under Chef Jean Claude Perrenou. In 2000, Robynne began her long standing relationship with Kitchen Art & Letters bookstore and its proprietor, Nach Waxman.

After graduate school, Robynne worked as an editorial assistant for Zanne Early Stewart and the food editors at Gourmet magazine until 2003. That summer, she accepted the department chair position for culinary and pastry arts at The Art Institute of New York City. After five years, she is now a full-time culinary lecturer in the department of Tourism and Hospitatliy at Kingsborough Community College. In addition, Robynne has guest lectured at New York University and serves as a cookbook judge for the annual James Beard Foundation Awards.

 

For more information contact Chef Deutsch at jdeutsch@gc.cuny.eduor call 718-368-5809

Full-Time Faculty
Program Director: Thomas Smyth, MS, Assistant Professor, tsmyth@kbcc.cuny.edu
Babette Audant, MPA, Assistant Professor, baudant@kbcc.cuny.edu
James Feustel, MA, Assistant Professor, jfeustel@kbcc.cuny.edu
Robynne Maii, MA, Assistant Professor, rmaii@kbcc.cuny.edu
Naxielly Dominguez, Substitute Lecturer Professor, ndominguez@kbcc.cuny.edu

Part-Time Faculty
Dylana Degannes, Dylana.Degannes@kbcc.cuny.edu
Lisa DeLange, Lisa.DeLange@kbcc.cuny.edu
George Edwards, George.Edwards@kbcc.cuny.edu
Sally Ingraham, Sarah.Ingraham@kbcc.cuny.edu
Sekou Luke, Sekou.Luke@kbcc.cuny.edu
Joan Paduano, Joan.Paduano@kbcc.cuny.edu
Stefania Patinella, Stefania.Patinella@kbcc.cuny.edu
Michael Rogak, Michael.Rogak@kbcc.cuny.edu
Maggie Zurowska, Malgorzata.Zurwaska@kbcc.cuny.edu

To reach a professor by phone, call the Department of Tourism and Hospitality at 718-368-5143.


Biography

Courses

Education

College Teaching

Selected Publications and/or Other Resources
Events and/or Key Dates


Research Interests

Awards Recognition, Distinctions and Grants

Institutional Affiliations / Professional Societies

Personal Interests

Related Faculty
Related Links
kccFacebook KCCTwitter
Privacy Statement | GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT | Disclaimer | Text Only | Make This Website Talk

Kingsborough Community College
2001 Oriental Boulevard, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2398 | (718)-368-5000
Kingsborough is CUNY